Timi Alaibe, Bayelsa PDP chairman, other bigwigs defect to APC

Former chairman of the Niger Delta Development Commission (NDDC), was among the many top shots of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) that defected to the All Progressives Congress (APC) in Bayelsa State on Saturday.

Surprisingly, Col. Sam Inokoba (rtd), the Bayelsa State PDP chairman also joined APC.

Over 1000 members and supporters of the PDP publicly swore their allegiance to the APC at a ceremony held at the Samson Siasia Sports Complex in Yenegoa.

Speaking, Alaibe said the defectors had left the PDP for good.

His words: “This is common sense revolution. It is not change for the sake of it. We are changing from poverty to prosperity. We are changing from lies and deceit. We are changing from ‘Wayo’.

“A state as rich as Bayelsa cannot tolerate poverty. It is not our portion to be in poverty. How can one provide oil and gas and not benefit from it? Change has come to Bayelsa‎.”

Applauding their courage, APC national chairman, John Oyegun, who led members of the party’s national working committee, said: “This is the first time a party is totally decapitated. The chairman of the PDP who represents the head of the party has left and the PDP is now headless. Anybody that is headless cannot survive.

“We now have former deputy governors, former National Assembly members, former commissioners, former this and former that. Who is left in the PDP? Nobody. The people in Bayelsa is making history for the South-South zone.”

The PDP members who have left to join us today have found a new home. There is no fear of use and dump”.

In his remark, former state governor, Timipre Sylva, said “The time for the unity and peace of Bayelsa had come. We need to foster peace in the party and the state because Bayelsa has seen enough division.

“There has been too many political killings under this administration. They have blood on their hands. The creeks of Bayelsa has become impassable. The government has completely failed”.

Other prominent defector were Senators John Brambraifa and Heineken Lokpobiri, former acting governors; Werinipre Sebarugu and Nestor Binabo; John Brambraifa, Andrew Oputa (Maj rtd), Christopher Milky, Alex Ekiotene, Christopher Enai, Stella Dorgu and Mathew Karimu.

Spread the love

Written by Online Editor

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

APC wins Appeal Court cases in Ondo

Defectors to APC in Bayelsa, are huge disappointment, embarrasment – PDP