Odusile elected new NUJ President

The Nigeria Union of Journalist (NUJ) has elected Abdulwaheed Odusile of the Nation Newspapers as its new president. He succeeds Malam Garba Mohammed.

Odusile was declared winner of the keenly contested election by the returning officer and Director, African Affairs, International Federation of Journalists, Mr Gabriel Baglow.

At the National Delegates Conference of NUJ held in Abuja on Saturday, Odusile polled 354 votes to defeat his closest opponent Mr Rotimi Obamuwagun who got 333 votes.

Other contestants for the position of the President included Mr Dele Atunibi, who garnered 51 votes, USA Uzaka who received 46 votes and Alhaji Mustafa Lamidi who got 12 votes.

Mr Mohammad Shu clinched the position of the financial secretary of the union after he secured 454 votes to defeat his contender Mr Ajayi Olugbenga.

The post of the National Treasurer went to Mrs Monica Okechukwu who got 310 votes to defeat two other contestants, namely, Mr Garba Iliya and Mr Ambrose Nwachukwu.

NAN reports that the positions of Deputy National President, National Internal Auditor and the Vice-President, North Central were filled unopposed.

Mr Chris Isiguzo was declared winner of the South East Vice-President after he defeated Mr Goddy Okafor who while Aisha Ibrahim clinched the position of Vice-President North East.

Other officials elected were Opaka Dokubo, Zonal Secretary South South, Mr Kenneth Ofoma Zonal Secretary, South East while Suleiman Ibrahim emerged Secretary, North East.

Similarly, Mr Hakeem Olatidoye emerged Secretary, North Central and Mr Lawal Afolabi won the post of the Secretary, South West Zone.

Delegates to the conference were drawn from NUJ Councils from the 36 states of the Federation and the FCT.

Thank you for reading this post, don't forget to subscribe!


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here