Court extends tenure of Nasarawa LG chairmen

A high court sitting in Lafia, Nasarawa state capital has extended tenure of the serving local government chairmen in the state from one to two years.
The 13 local government chairmen in the state had approached the high court challenging the decision of the state Assembly in the last dispensation amending the 2009 local government law in the state to allow for only one year for elected local government officials.
Ruling in the suit brought before her on Wednesday, Justice Aisha Ahmed held that the action of the State House of Assembly was unconstitutional.
She maintained that the State House of Assembly did not follow constitutional process in reversing the tenure of local government chairmen and councilors in the state from two years to one.
She, therefore, ordered that the tenure of the current chairmen and councillors in the state be extended to two years in office beginning from the day they were sworn-in.
Briefing journalists on Wednesday at the NUJ press center in Lafia, the state capital, lead counsel to the local government chairmen, Mary Onyeaka, expressed delight with the judgment, explaining that with the court ruling the tenure of local government councils has been extended to two years.
She urged the state government to comply with the court ruling on the matter to ensure that the current local government chairmen and counsellors serve for two years, following the order of the court.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here