Ambode’s cabinet list out this week

Governor of Lagos State, Mr. Akinwunmi Ambode, may announce members of his cabinet this week.

It was gathered that 15 names have been pencilled to head some of the 20 ministries in the state. The state Deputy Governor, Dr. Oluranti Adebule, will head the education ministry.

Adebule, who holds a Bachelor of Arts in Education degree in Islamic Studies (1992), also has a Master of Education degree in Curriculum Studies (1997), both from the Lagos State University.

Ambode, soon after his inauguration on May 29, had announced Mr. Tunji Bello as Secretary to the State Government; Mr. Samuel Ojo as the Chief of Staff; Mr. Abiodun Bamgboye as his Principal Private Secretary; and Mr. Habib Aruna as his Chief Press Secretary.

A source close to Ambode, who spoke on condition of anonymity, noted that barring last minute changes, a former representative of Ikorodu Constituency II at the state House of Assembly between 2011 and 2015, Mrs. Modupe Akinsola, may step in as Commissioner for Tourism.

Also, erstwhile Special Adviser on Central Business District to former Governor Babatunde Fashola, Folarin Coker, has been purportedly named to serve as Commissioner for Waterfront Infrastructure Development.

Similarly, another former Special Adviser (Rural Development) to Fashola, Paul Kalejaiye, is said to have been named as the incoming Commissioner for Agriculture. Kalejaiye, a two-time House of Representatives aspirant, was a prominent member of Ambode’s campaign team.

In the same vein, Mrs. Lola Akande, is said to have been named as the would-be Commissioner of the Ministry of Women Affairs and Poverty Alleviation.

Akande, who gave up her ambition for House of Representatives membership, served as Deputy Majority Leader in the Lagos House of Assembly, where she represented Ikeja Constituency II from 2007 to 2015.

The Managing Director of the Lagos Metropolitan Area Transport Authority, Dr. Dayo Mobereola, is believed to be the incoming Commissioner for Transportation.

The source also revealed that a former Senior Special Assistant to Fashola, Mr. Mohammed Kabiru, would be among the new commissioners.

Others said to be on the appointees’ list include two-time Special Adviser to Fashola on Works and Infrastructure, Mr. Ganiyu John (Ministry of Works and Infrastructure); former Senior Special Assistant to Fashola on Public Affairs, Mr. Idowu Ajanaku (Ministry of Information and Strategy); former aide-de-camp to APC National Leader, Asiwaju Bola Tinubu, Gbolahan Lawal (Ministry of Environment); and a former Special Adviser to Fashola on Political and Legislative Powers from 2007 to 2011, Mr. Abdullateef Abdulkareem (Ministry of Home Affairs).

The Chairman of Bariga Local Council Development Area, Mr. Sulaimon Oriyomi, also known as Oris, was also said to have been named as the Commissioner of Local Government and Community Affairs.

It was further learnt that a member of Ambode’s governorship transition committee, Prof. Ademola Abass, who is also a member of the Board of Trustees at King’s College, London, would head the Ministry of Wealth Creation and Employment.

Others said to have been considered to head ministries include a former representative of Amuwo-Odofin Constituency II (2011-2015), Ms. Ramotallahi Akinola-Hassan; erstwhile Deputy Director-General of Ambode’s campaign organisation, Mr. Kazeem Adeniyi; and a former Special Adviser to Fashola on Parastatals Monitoring, Mr. Adekunle Salvador.

Thank you for reading this post, don't forget to subscribe!


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here